Jump directly to the page contents

Dates

From May 20 to June 16 in the window of SAVVY Contemporary
Reinickendorfer Straße 17, 13347 Berlin

Jump to content

Night has fallen on a world on fire. Demonstrations, earthquakes, forest fires – fire is everywhere. The fires of struggles and pains, of rebirth and chaos. Men and women speak and despeak to honor the dead and save the living.
THE WAKE, the new creation of The Living and the Dead Ensemble, is a play that re-weaves an exploded geography, like the broken mirror of a chaotic world. Personal stories and fables, cries of revolt and songs, demands and delusions – an assembly of people try to understand one another. Is there a possible future that could exist beyond the repetition of all sorts of catastrophes? Is there a common fire to be shared among those who have lost the power of speech or never even possessed it?
During the writing process for this uncertain journey into space and time, the authors of The Living and the Dead Ensemble worked with sequences from the play “Mélovivi ou le piège” by Haitian writer Frankétienne. Through a rereading and an updating of a work that anticipated the earthquake that would ravage Haiti ten years ago, they used the idea of the wake as a visionary space, which in turn foreshadowed the conflagration of the Black Lives Matter movement.

Artistic Direction The Living and the Dead Ensemble. Curators Elena Agudio, Bonaventure Soh Bejeng Ndikung. Production Abhishek Nilamber, Antonio Pedro Mendes. Management Lema Sikod. Communications Anna Jäger. Tech Bert Günther. Art Handling Rafal Lazar. Online Platform Common Garden developed by Constant Dullaart & designed by Juan Pablo Garcia Sossa.

The Living and the Dead Ensemble are a group of artists, performers and poets from Haiti, France and the United Kingdom. Founded in 2017, the ensemble produce texts, performances, films and installations, through which the group’s members relate the cultural richness and history of Haiti as the first independent black republic in America. Ouvertures, based on an idea by Louis Henderson and Olivier Marboeuf, is the first film by The Living and the Dead Ensemble. Their work explores different possible methods of telling the history and the present from a Caribbean perspective and a transnational imaginary. The Ensemble produce texts, performances, films and installations.
Its members include Léonard Jean Baptiste, Mackenson Bijou, Rossi Jacques Casimir, Dieuvela Cherestal, James Desiris, James Fleurissaint, Louis Henderson, Cynthia Maignan, Sophonie Maignan, Olivier Marboeuf and Mimétik Nèg.

THE WAKE is a coproduction by Spectre Productions, Le théâtre de l’Usine (Genève), Les Ateliers Médicis (Clichy-Montfermeil), Kunstenfestival des Arts (Bruxelles), Z33 (Aalst), SAVVY Contemporary (Berlin) and Berlinale Forum Expanded.

The INVOCATIONS “Les Veillées” is a project supported by the fund PERSPEKTIVE pour l’art contemporain & l’architecture, an initiative of Bureau des arts plastiques de l’Institut français d’Allemagne. With the support of Ministère de la Culture, Institut français de Paris and Goethe Institut. In collaboration with R22 Tout-Monde.

Films: 2020: Ouvertures (132 Min., Forum 2020). 2021: The Wake.

Forum Expanded 2021

Bonus Material

  • The Living and the Dead Ensemble, THE WAKE (Still)

    Polyphony for the Wake

    Four posters, which are shown as part of the exhibition in the SAVVY Contemporary window—in Creole, French, English and German.

Funded by:

  • Logo Minister of State for Culture and the Media
  • Logo des Programms NeuStart Kultur

Direkt zum Seiteninhalt springen

Spielzeiten

Von 20. Mai bis 16. Juni im Fenster von SAVVY Contemporary
Reinickendorfer Straße 17, 13347 Berlin

Zum Inhalt springen

Die Nacht ist über einer Welt in Flammen eingebrochen. Demonstrationen, Erdbeben, Waldbrände – überall Feuer. Die Feuer der Kämpfe und Schmerzen, der Wiedergeburt und des Chaos. Männer und Frauen sprechen und entsprechen, um die Toten zu ehren und die Lebenden zu retten.
THE WAKE, die neue Arbeit des The Living and the Dead Ensemble, ist ein Theaterstück, das eine explodierte Geografie neu verwebt, wie den zerbrochenen Spiegel einer chaotischen Welt. Persönliche Geschichten und Fabeln, Rufe nach Revolution und Lieder, Forderungen und Wahnvorstellungen – eine Versammlung von Menschen versucht, sich gegenseitig zu verstehen. Gibt es eine mögliche Zukunft, die jenseits der Wiederholung von Katastrophen aller Art existieren könnte? Gibt es ein gemeinsames Feuer, das man mit denen teilen kann, die die Macht der Sprache verloren haben oder sie nie besessen haben?
Während des Schreibprozesses für diese ungewisse Reise in Raum und Zeit arbeiteten die Autor*innen des Ensembles mit Sequenzen aus dem Stück „Mélovivi ou le piège“ des haitianischen Schriftstellers Frankétienne. Durch erneute Lektüre und Aktualisierung eines Werks, das das Erdbeben vorwegnahm, das Haiti vor zehn Jahren verwüsten sollte, nutzten sie die Vorstellung der Totenwache als visionären Raum, der wiederum den Flächenbrand der Black-Lives-Matter-Bewegung vorausahnen ließ.

Künstlerische Leitung The Living and the Dead Ensemble. Kurator*innen Elena Agudio, Bonaventure Soh Bejeng Ndikung. Produktion Abhishek Nilamber, Antonio Pedro Mendes. Management Lema Sikod. Kommunikation Anna Jäger. Tech Bert Günther. Art Handling Rafal Lazar. Online-Plattform Common Garden developed by Constant Dullaart & designed by Juan Pablo Garcia Sossa.

The Living and the Dead Ensemble ist eine Gruppe von Künstler*innen, Performer*innen und Lyriker*innen aus Haiti, Frankreich und Großbritannien. Das 2017 gegründete Ensemble produziert Texte, Performances, Filme und Installationen, mit denen die Mitglieder der Gruppe vom kulturellen Reichtum und der Geschichte Haitis als erster unabhängiger schwarzer Republik in Amerika erzählen. Ouvertures, entstanden nach einer Idee von Louis Henderson und Olivier Marboeuf, ist der erste Film des The Living and the Dead Ensembles. Das Ensemble erkundet mit seinen Arbeiten unterschiedliche Methoden, Geschichte und Gegenwart aus einer karibischen Perspektive sowie mittels transnationalem Imaginiertem. Das Ensemble produziert Texte, Performances, Filme und Installationen.
Zu dem Mitgliedern gehören Léonard Jean Baptiste, Mackenson Bijou, Rossi Jacques Casimir, Dieuvela Cherestal, James Desiris, James Fleurissaint, Louis Henderson, Cynthia Maignan, Sophonie Maignan, Olivier Marboeuf und Mimétik Nèg.

THE WAKE ist eine Koproduktion von Spectre Productions, Le théâtre de l'Usine (Genf), Les Ateliers Médicis (Clichy-Montfermeil), Kunstenfestival des Arts (Brüssel), Z33 (Aalst), SAVVY Contemporary (Berlin) und Berlinale Forum Expanded.

Die INVOCATIONS „Les Veillées“ werden gefördert vom Fonds PERSPEKTIVE für zeitgenössische Kunst & Architektur, einer Initiative des Bureau des arts plastiques des Institut français in Deutschland. Mit Unterstützung des Ministère de la Culture, Institut français de Paris und Goethe Institut. In Zusammenarbeit mit R22 Tout-Monde.

Filme: 2020: Ouvertures (132 Min., Forum 2020). 2021: The Wake.

Forum Expanded 2021

Bonusmaterial

  • The Living and the Dead Ensemble, THE WAKE (Still)

    Polyphony for the Wake

    Vier Poster, die im Rahmen der Ausstellung im Fenster von SAVVY Contemporary gezeigt werden – in Creole, Französisch, Englisch und Deutsch.

Gefördert durch:

  • Logo des BKM (Die Beauftragte der Bundesregierung für Kultur und Medien)
  • Logo des Programms NeuStart Kultur