Jump directly to the page contents

Jump to content

13.06.2021 21:30 OV Open Air Kino HKW (Tickets)

In Short Film Program #4, with:
SONGS OF THE SHIRT (5), AFTER LIFE FOLLOWED BY RED IMPASTO JAR, FATHERLAND, AHORITA FRAMES

“Ka-pi-ta” is the official job title given to Congolese charged with enforcing their white master’s bidding—through domination—over their fellow Congolese on plantations, in factories, in commerce, and other sites of capitalist extraction and production. From one perspective, this history of exploitation in Congo is well documented from the colonial era to the present. There are a wealth of images of the copper and cobalt mines that fueled the industrial revolution, of the coltan and niobium mines that fuel the electronic revolution. But even in their efforts to reveal violence, such images often render the engines of exploitation invisible. By recoding archival footage and intertwining it with contemporary images, KAPITA exposes patterns of extraction and burial to decode colonial representations—and exploitation—of central African land and people and mines the archival films for what they make invisible: the black-skinned workers evaporated by cameras calibrated to white, the collateral death and destruction interred in infrastructure. (Petna Ndaliko Katondolo)

Production Cherie Rivers Ndaliko. Production company Alkebu Film Production (Goma, Democratic Republic of the Congo). Written and directed by Petna Ndaliko Katondolo. Cinematography Emmanuel Vinywasiki Katya. Editing Petna Ndaliko Katondolo. Sound design Petna Ndaliko Katondolo. Sound Jay Safari. Production manager Ganza Buroko. Executive producer Cherie Rivers Ndaliko. With Precy Numbi (Robot), Mega Mingiedi (Chie ), Chivas Tsongo (Goat Man), Sarah Mukadi (Queen).

Petna Ndaliko Katondolo, born in 1974 in Goma, Congo, is a filmmaker, activist, and educator living between his hometown and Chapel Hill, USA. His multi-genre artistic works are known for their decolonial Afrofuturistic artistic style, which engages historical content to address contemporary sociopolitical and cultural issues. In 2000, he founded Yole!Africa, a non-profit organization that serves as a hub for education and social innovation for artists, civil society leaders, and journalists in the east of Congo. In 2005 he founded the Congo International Film Festival (formerly known as the Salaam Kivu International Film Festival). In addition to serving as Artistic Director of both Yole!Africa and the Congo International Film Festival, Ndaliko Katondolo also teaches and consults regularly for international organizations, addressing social and political inequity among marginalized groups through culture and education. He is currently the Artist in Residence at the Stone Center for Black History and Culture at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. In 2020 his film MATATA was part of Forum Expanded.

Films: 2004: Théâtre Brûlé (10 min.), Lamokowang (13 min.). 2005: Threatened Fate (7 min.), Ma-dia (7 min.), Goma Capitale du Cinéma (21 min.). 2007: Pandisha Bandera (45 min.). 2008: True Story Short (13 min.). 2010: Jazz Mama (32 min.). 2012: Melting Justice (5 min.). 2013: Mabele na Biso (34 min.). 2014: Myth Eyes (3 min.). 2016: The Dead Are Not Dead (10 min.). 2019: Danze (21 min.), Matata (37 min., Forum Expanded 2020). 2020: Kapita.

Bonus Material

I understand that videos on the Arsenal Website are embedded by Vimeo. Every time a page that offers a Vimeo video clip is called up, a direct connection is created between my browser and a Vimeo server in the USA. Information about my visit and my computer’s IP address is stored there. Furthermore, the iframe that opens when a Vimeo video is clicked also launches the tracking service Google Analytics. I understand that I will find further information in Arsenal’s data protection and privacy policy

Bonus Material

  • Petna Ndaliko Katondolo, KAPITA (Still)

    Director’s Statement

    Petna Ndaliko Katondolo describes his work with archives of early films made in Kongo, the interrelations between colonialism, racialized capitalism and progress, and filmmaking as “making visible”.
Forum Expanded 2021

Funded by:

  • Logo Minister of State for Culture and the Media
  • Logo des Programms NeuStart Kultur

Direkt zum Seiteninhalt springen

Zum Inhalt springen

13.06.2021 21:30 OF Open Air Kino HKW (Tickets)

In Kurzfilmprogramm #4, zusammen mit:
SONGS OF THE SHIRT (5), AFTER LIFE FOLLOWED BY RED IMPASTO JAR, ZAHLVATERSCHAFT, AHORITA FRAMES

„Ka-pi-ta“ ist der offizielle Titel, der einem Kongolesen verliehen wird, dessen Auftrag es ist, seine Landsleute im Namen seines weißen Herrn zu unterdrücken – auf Plantagen, in Fabriken, im Handel und an anderen Schauplätzen kapitalistischer Extraktion und Produktion.
Einerseits ist die Geschichte der Ausbeutung im Kongo von der Kolonialzeit bis heute gut dokumentiert. Es gibt eine Vielzahl an Bildern der Kupfer- und Kobaltminen, die die industrielle Revolution antrieben, ebenso wie von den für die derzeitige elektronische Revolution unerlässlichen Coltan- und Niobiumminen. Doch so sehr sie sich bemühen Gewalt aufzudecken – solche Bilder machen die Motoren der Ausbeutung oft unsichtbar. KAPITA verbindet bearbeitete Archivbilder mit zeitgenössischen Aufnahmen und enthüllt so Strukturen des Aus- und Eingrabens in der kolonialen Repräsentation – und Ausbeutung – von Land, Menschen und Minen in Zentralafrika. Die historischen Filmaufnahmen werden ihrerseits zu Minen in denen der Film nach dem sucht, was sie verdecken: die von den auf weiße Haut geeichten Kameras in Luft aufgelösten Schwarzen Arbeiter*innen, der kollaterale Tod und die unter der Infrastruktur vergrabene Zerstörung. (Petna Ndaliko Katondolo)

Produktion Cherie Rivers Ndaliko. Produktionsfirma Alkebu Film Production (Goma, Demokratische Republik Kongo). Regie, Buch Petna Ndaliko Katondolo. Kamera Emmanuel Vinywasiki Katya. Montage Petna Ndaliko Katondolo. Sound Design Petna Ndaliko Katondolo. Ton Jay Safari. Produktionsleitung Ganza Buroko. Ausführende*r Produzent*in Cherie Rivers Ndaliko. Mit Precy Numbi (Robot), Mega Mingiedi (Chief), Chivas Tsongo (Goat Man), Sarah Mukadi (Queen).

Petna Ndaliko Katondolo, geboren 1974 in Goma, Kongo, ist Filmemacher, Aktivist und Dozent. Er lebt aktuell zwischen seiner Heimatstadt und Chapel Hill. Seine genreübergreifenden Arbeiten werden für ihren dekolonialen afrofuturistischen Stil geschätzt, der historische Inhalte mit zeitgenössischen gesellschaftspolitischen und kulturellen Themen verbindet. 2000 gründete er Yole!Africa, eine gemeinnützige Organisation, die im Osten Kongos als Zentrum für Bildung und soziale Innovation für Künstler*innen, führende Persönlichkeiten der Zivilgesellschaft und Journalist*innen dient. 2005 gründete er das Congo International Film Festival (vormals bekannt als Salaam Kivu International Film Festival). Neben seiner Tätigkeit als künstlerischer Leiter von Yole!Africa und des Congo International Film Festival, unterrichtet und berät er regelmäßig internationale Organisationen, die sich mittels Kultur- und Bildungsinitiativen mit sozialer und politischer Ungerechtigkeit unter marginalisierten Gruppen befassen. Derzeit ist er Gaststipendiat am Stone Center for Black History and Culture an der Universität von North Carolina in Chapel Hill. 2020 wurde sein Film MATATA im Forum Expanded gezeigt.

Filme: 2004: Théâtre Brûlé (10 Min.), Lamokowang (13 Min.). 2005: Threatened Fate (7 Min.), Ma-dia (7 Min.), Goma Capitale du Cinéma (21 Min.). 2007: Pandisha Bandera (45 Min.). 2008: True Story Short (13 Min.). 2010: Jazz Mama (32 Min.). 2012: Melting Justice (5 Min.). 2013: Mabele na Biso (34 Min.). 2014: Myth Eyes (3 Min.). 2016: The Dead Are Not Dead (10 Min.). 2019: Danze (21 Min.), Matata (37 Min., Forum Expanded 2020). 2020: Kapita.

Bonusmaterial

Ich nehme zur Kenntnis, dass die Videos auf der Webseite des Arsenals über Vimeo eingebettet sind. Bei Aufruf einer Seite, auf dem ein Video eingebettet ist, wird eine direkte Verbindung zwischen meinem Browser und einem Server von Vimeo in den USA hergestellt. Dabei werden Informationen über meinen Besuch und meine IP-Adresse dort gespeichert. Außerdem ruft Vimeo über den iFrame, in dem das Video aufgerufen wird, den Tracker Google Analytics auf. Weitere Informationen finde ich in der Datenschutzerklärung des Arsenal.

Bonusmaterial

  • Petna Ndaliko Katondolo, KAPITA (Still)

    Kommentar des Regisseurs

    Petna Ndaliko Katondolo beschreibt seine Arbeit mit Archiven früher Filmaufnahmen des Kongo, die Verwicklungen zwischen Kolonialismus, rassisiertem Kapitalismus und Fortschritt und das Filmemachen als Sichtbarmachung.
Forum Expanded 2021

Gefördert durch:

  • Logo des BKM (Die Beauftragte der Bundesregierung für Kultur und Medien)
  • Logo des Programms NeuStart Kultur